Past Officers

Past President:

Jeffrey Kahn, PhD, Past President 2006-2010
Jeffrey Kahn is the Robert Henry Levi and Ryda Hecht Levi Professor of Bioethics and Public Policy in the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics.

David Magnus, Ph.D., Past President 2010-2012
David Magnus, PhD is Thomas A. Raffin Professor of Medicine and Biomedical Ethics, and Professor of Pediatrics at Stanford University, where he directs the Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics.

Benjamin Wilfond, MD, Past President 2012-2014
Benjamin S. Wilfond, MD is Director of the Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics and is an attending physician in the Division of Pulmonary Medicine at Seattle Children’s.

Stuart Youngner, MD, Past President 2014-2016
Stuart J. Youngner, MD, is Professor of Bioethics and Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine.

Amy McGuire, J.D., Ph.D, Past President 2016-2018
Amy L. McGuire, J.D., Ph.D. is the Leon Jaworski Professor of Biomedical Ethics and Director of the Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy at Baylor College of Medicine.

Paul Root Wolpe, Ph.D Past President 2018-2020
Paul Root Wolpe, Ph.D. is the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Bioethics, Raymond Schinazi Distinguished Research Professor of Jewish Bioethics, Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Sociology, and the Director of the Center for Ethics at Emory University.


Past Secretary:

Ross McKinney, MD, Past Secretary 2010-2016
Dr. Ross McKinney is Professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Director of the Trent Center for Bioethics, Humanities, and History of Medicine at the Duke University School of Medicine. He’s Secretary for the Board of the ABPD. His ethics related-research has focused on conflict of interest, research ethics, and ethical issues in sports medicine. He is also chair of the Clinical Research Ethics Key Function Committee of the NIH-funded Clinical Translational Science Award Consortium.

Arthur R. Derse, M.D., J.D. Past Secretary 2016-2022
Arthur R. Derse, M.D., J.D., is Director of the Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities, and is Julia and David Uihlein Professor of Medical Humanities, and Professor of Bioethics and Emergency Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Past Treasurer:

Thomas Tomlinson Ph.D., Past Treasurer 2006-2014
Thomas Tomlinson is the Director for the Center for Ethics and Humanities in the Life Sciences. He has been teaching health care ethics to medical, nursing, veterinary, and graduate students for more than 30 years. His research and publications address topics like futile treatment, determinations of death in organ transplantation, ethical challenges in biobank research, and numerous others in-between. His book, Methods in Medical Ethics: Critical Perspectives, was published by Oxford University Press in 2012.

Richard Demme, MD, FACP, Past Treasurer 2014-2016
Richard A. Demme is an Associate Professor of Medicine, Medical Humanities and Bioethics at the University of Rochester Medical Center (URMC).

D. Micah Hester, Ph.D Past Treasurer 2016-2022
D. Micah Hester, PhD, is chief of the Division of Medical Humanities and professor of medical humanities and pediatrics at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, and clinical ethicist at Arkansas Children’s Hospital.

Past Member At Large:

Kathleen Powderly, CNM, PhD, Past Board Member at Large 2012-2016
Dr. Kathleen E. Powderly is Director of the John Conley Division of Medical Ethics and Humanities at the SUNY Downstate Medical Center.

Colleen M. Gallagher, PhD, LSW, FACHE, Past Board Member at Large 2016-2020
Dr. Gallagher has worked in the fields of social work and health care ethics since 1985. She received her Doctoral degree in Bioethics In Health Care Professions and Social Work from The Union Institute and University.

Patrick T. Smith, PhD, Past Board Member at Large 2022-2023
Dr. Smith is Director of Program in Bioethics at the Trent Center for Bioethics, Humanities & History of Medicine at Duke University School of Medicine.